Leadership Programs

Being a CEO/ED or a member of a leadership team can be a challenging and sometimes isolating experience. We offer two types of programs to address the unique challenges of both groups.

The Executive Peer Circle Program (EPCP) and the Leader Peer Circle Program (LPCP) are 12-month programs that support exceptional nonprofit leaders in our community.

These programs are grounded in the Circle Process, which makes them different from traditional skill-development or networking programs.

Leaders learn how to combat the executive isolation, personal and organizational mission creep, vicarious trauma and burnout that successful nonprofit leaders often face.

Participants leave these gatherings renewed and better able to support their organizations.

Please note that the programs occur in alternating years and a new class of LPCP began in 2017.

2020 Executive Peer Circle Program (EPCP)

  • Eligibility: Applicant must be the Executive Director/CEO of an agency who has had an active grant from The Healing Trust within the last three years.
  • Application and selection process: Applications are available here and are due by December 1, 2019. Notifications for selection will be sent by December 18, 2019.
  • Time Commitment and Expectations: There are 12 participants in each EPCP cohort. The program begins with a half-day retreat, followed by 11 monthly gatherings (2.5 hours each). The dates of the monthly meetings are listed on the application and the Circle Process is used during each meeting.

A full commitment to attend each gathering is expected.

2021 Leader Peer Circle Program (LPCP)

  • Eligibility: Applicant must be on the leadership team of an agency that has had an active grant from The Healing Trust in the previous calendar year and cannot be the CEO/Executive Director of the organization.
  • Application and selection process:  Applications will be available in April of 2021.  Please check back in early Spring for dates.
  • Time Commitment and Expectations: The program begins with a half-day retreat, followed by 11 monthly gatherings (2.5 hours each). The Circle Process is used during each meeting.

A full commitment to attend each gathering is expected.



2020 Cohort

Cindy Sims – Center of Hope

Jeff Fladen – NAMI TN

Juliana Ospina Cano – Conexion Americas

Kathryn Norbeck – Child Advocacy Center of the 23rd Judicial District

Margie Quin – End Slavery TN

Maridel Williams – Doors of Hope

Megan Schwalm – Tennessee Respite Coalition

Rachel Freeman – Sexual Assault Center

Terri Sabella –Tennessee Primary Care Association

Trina Frierson – Mending Hearts

Yvette Hanshaw – AWAKE TN

Lynn Blumfield – Partners for Healing

2018 Cohort

Brian Haile – Neighborhood Health

Chandler Means – AGAPE

Cindy Siler – Mercy Community Healthcare

Jacy Warrell – Tennessee Health Care Campaign

Jennifer Abernathy – Tennessee Respite Coalition

Julieanna Huddle – CASA Nashville

Karen Lampert – Domestic Violence Program

Katina Beard – Matthew Walker Comprehensive Health Center

Mary Katherine Rand – The Mary Parrish Center

Mary Kiger – Tennessee Charitable Care Network

Michelle Carmack – Partners for Healing

Pam Brown – Insight Counseling Centers

Pamela Russo – Catholic Charities of Tennessee

Rondy Smith – Rest Stop Ministries

Steve Fleming – Bethlehem Centers of Nashville

2019 Cohort

Amy Shurden – Park Center
Anita Pringle – Refuge Center
Carol Smith – Insight Counseling Center
Collen Mayer – Safe Haven Family Shelter
Jessica Hoke – Nashville CARES
Joel Alex –  Family & Children’s Services
Kinika Young – Tennessee Justice Center
Laura Camp – Siloam Family Health Center
Loria Hubbard – The ARC
Mary Beth Heaney-Gárate – Sexual Assault Center
Richard Neal –  Catholic Charities
Shatiqua Jamerson – Tennessee Primary Care Association
Tara Tidwell – Davis House
Tevin Peterson –  Men of Valor

2017 Cohort

James Bush-STARS Nashville
Joshua Kravitz– Dispensary of Hope
Carolyn Evans – Davis House
Rachel Freeman – Sexual Assault Center
Kyle Duvall – Welcome Home Ministries
Erika Borg– Monroe Harding
Andrea Stilwell – Interfaith Dental Clinic
Sarah Evans – Thistle Farms
Anna Claire Lowder– Tennessee Voices for Children
Emily Nourse – Family and Children Services
Claire Wisely– Nashville Academy of Medicine
Gloria Morrison– Nurses for Newborns
Jeney Slusser– Centerstone
Debbie Rutland – Begin Anew
Susan Veale – Tennessee Health Care Campaign

2015 Cohort

Curt Campbell – Men of Valor
Frances Anderson – Nashville International Center for Empowerment
Shelia Biddy – Music Health Alliance
Nina Borum – Preston Taylor Ministries
Veronica Clark – You Have the Power
Kristi Sylvester -GraceWorks Ministries
Jennifer Trail -The Family Center
Anne Calton – Christian Women’s Job Corp of Middle Tennessee
Patience Long – CASA Nashville
Katherine Pace Snyder – Prevent Child Abuse Tennessee
Jamie Staggs – Kid’s Place/A Child Advocacy Center
Taylor Cochran – Insight Counseling Centers
Jenn Garcia – Oasis Center
Robert Adams – Nashville CARES
Nikki Ringenberg – Hearing Bridges
Sharon Crawford – Tennessee Primary Care Association